The members work very hard to raise funds for the the Bella Vista Garden Club Dorothy Wallace Scholarships. Fundraisers include the Annual Spring and Fall Plant Sales, Bi-Annual Garden Tours and the Annual Card Party in March.

The scholarship program was named for Dorothy Wallace in 2002.

About Dorothy Wallace

The Bella Vista Garden Club Dorothy Wallace Scholarships are named in memory of the Bella Vista Garden Club Past President who loved teaching and made many contributions to Bella Vista and our Garden Club. After completing extensive training in horticulture and design in Iowa she become a certified Judge for the National Garden Clubs, Inc. in 1968 and a Master Judge in 1978.

Dorothy moved to Bella Vista in 1988 from Iowa and immediately joined the Bella Vista Garden Club and served as President from 1993 to 1995. She was a founding member of the Floralia Arranger’s Guild Garden Club. As a rosarian and judge she shared her knowledge of design and gardening by teaching design classes, workshops and giving demonstrations. Her contributions to the Bella Vista Garden Club’s bi-annual Standard Flower Shows brought attention to floral designers in Northwest Arkansas.

Her enthusiasm and encouragement of the members lives on and the club’s Standard Flower Shows have won many State, Regional and National Awards. After being a member of a federated garden club in Iowa and in Arkansas for over 40 years, Dorothy passed away on December 18, 2001 at the age of 76.

2019 Scholarship

Thomas "Max" McKeown

Joshua "Josh" Tebow

2018 Scholarship

Scholarship Recipients, William Samuels and Garrett Toelle with Scholarship Committee Members (left to right) Virginia Halman, Marilyn Russell, Judi Shannon, and Club President, Judy Jeffery.

The Moms of both recipients were welcome guests at the meeting. The Club was proud to award this years scholarships to two veterans.

2017 Scholarship

Scholarships were awarded to Georginna Carrico (left) and Jordan Slater (right) at the September 2017 meeting. Georgina hopes to go into vineyards and wine making while Jordan is interested in native plants and sustainability.

2016 Scholarship

Olivia Caillouet (far left) and Loren Anthony (right)

2015 Scholarship

Jay Donham with Virginia Halman, is a graduating senior at Gravette High School. He was the recipient of a $1,500 Scholarship Award at the May 11, 2015 meeting. Jay will be attending the University of Arkansas Agriculture School starting in the 2015 Fall Semester.

2014 Scholarships

Photo Left to Right: Dr. Jan-Francois Meullenet, Interim Department Head, University of Arkansas Horticulture Department (expert in Food Sciences); Dr. Douglas Karcher, Co-Chair of the Scholarship Committee of the Horticulture Department, University of Arkansas (Grass Soil Specialist in the areas of Golf Courses and Sports Fields);

Rickie Lee Hicks, $1,500 Award

Megan Lankford, $750 Award

Leah Malvar, $750 Award

Marilyn Russell, BVGC Scholarship Committee

2013 Scholarships

Leah Malvar is a senior at the University of Arkansas pursuing a degree in Horticulture. She is involved in University’s Horticulture Club, GroGreen Club and the Crop, soils, and Environmental Sciences Club. Her interests are sustainable and organic horticulture.

Bethany Sebesta is a resident of Benton County. She is a senior at the University of Arkansas, pursuing a degree in Horticulture, and after graduation in 2013 will pursue her Master’s degree. She is involved in the University’s GroGreen Club and a volunteer at “The Farm(a Cobblestone Project)”.

Haleigh Smith is a resident of Benton County and will graduate from the University of Arkansas in 2013. Haleigh is currently Vice-President of the University’s Horticulture Club. This year she is spending in New Zealand with the WWOOFing program, which is a world-wide organization that promotes organic farming.

2012 Scholarship

Leah Malvar thanked the Garden Club for her scholarship at the September 2012 Meeting.

2011 Scholarship

The 2011 Scholarship was awarded to Levi Parrish at the January 26th meeting. Levi is a 21 year old Benton County resident who is attending NWACC pursuing an Associates of Applied Science degree in Landscape Design. He has participated in the Building Together program, a community outreach program, that included Levi's work on raised beds for the Sunshine School.

2010 Scholarship

Pictured from left are: Marilyn Russell, Scholarship Committee; Amy Bensinger, NWACC; Charles May, scholarship recipient; Rebecca Webb, NWACC; Judi Shannon, Scholarship Committee; Janice Kennedy, Scholarship Committee Chairman; and Colt Smith, scholarship recipient.

Both 2010 scholarship recipients were studying Civil Engineering. The field now has "green" applications in planning energy efficient land use, grading, rainwater drainage, power, landscaping, and building construction.

2009 Scholarship

On February 25th, the Club awarded its $1,000 Dorothy Wallace Scholarship to Colt Smith. These monies will cover a semester's expenses at NWACC where Smith is a working on an Associate's Degree in the Computer Aided Design Program for Landscape Design.

Develop a passion for learning. If you do, you will never cease to grow.

Anthony J. D'Angelo